Born on April 16, 1937
Tuscarawas County, OH
September 16, 2020 from complications of Covid-19.
Inducted On
July 17, 2004
Location Inducted
Indianapolis, IN
Region Number
Uhrichsville, OH
National Honor Society, Hi-Y, and Treasurer and District President Senior Year; played varsity football and basketball all 4 years; Senior Class President; won several scholarships.
Miami University, OH 1959; Ohio University MS 1961; Indiana University Director Degree
Outstanding Senior Athlete in 1958 and 1959; member of Phi Kappa, Phi Epsilon Kappa, and Tribe Miami President; played varsity football and was co-captain of team.
Professor of Kinesiology, DePauw; director of the Nick Mourouzis Football Kicking Camp, the NM Football Lineman Camp, and the NM Football Passing Camp; charter member of Central Indiana Chapter of National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame; founder of National College Honor Society (NCAHS) in 1996 to honor men and women scholar athletes who maintain a 3.40 GPA while lettering in a sport their junior or senior year, with 214 active chapters in 40 states and the District of Columbia; founder of Chi Alpha Sigma (XAE), which is the only national honor society for athletes; received Key to City of Indianapolis and Mayor Proclamation 2003; named a "Sagamore of the Wabash" by Govenor in 2003; Legend Speaker for IHSFCA 2004; commencement speaker at DePauw's 165th graduation 2004; received 2009 Cradle of Coaches honor on Miami University game ticket.
Wife, Marilyn; children, Ted - wife, Susan, and children Jack, Emma, and Nick; Pam - husband, Matt, and daughter, Isla.
Coaching Experience: Graduate assistant of Ohio University football team 1959-1961; assistant football and head track coach at Kettering Fairmont HS 1961; assistant football coach at Ball State University 1962, Ohio University 1963-1965, Indiana University 1965-1972 as defensive backfield coach, and Northwestern University 1973-1981; head coach at DePauw University 1981-2003; retired January 1, 2004, with over 328 records broken or tied and a game record of 140-85-4 as the most winning football coach in DePauw history.

Coaching Honors: Received AFCA 35 Year Award 1997; ICAC Coach of the Year 1990 and 1996; SCAC Coach of the Year 2000; Distinguished American Award from National Football Foundation, Indiana Chapter, 2001; inducted into Miami University Cradle of Coaches 2003; received Alumnus of Year Award from Claymont Foundation, Uhrichsville, OH, 2003, for contributions to game of football; inducted into DePauw University Athletic Hall of Fame 2006; received Spirit of Monon Bell Award 2010; field at DePauw's Blackstock Stadium dedicated as Nick Mourouzis Field October 12, 2013.

Outstanding Players Coached: Three NCAA Post-Granduate Scholars; 6 Academic All-Americans.