Born on December 26, 1930
Hammond, IN
August 3, 2019.
Inducted On
May 8, 2004
Location Inducted
Clarksville, IN
Region Number
Clarksville Providence
Hammond Tech
Lettered in track, football, and basketball; football All-State.
University of Louisville
Holds record for longest TD reception; led team in total points 1950; in 1950 and 1954, led team in receptions and yardage; had team high average of 33 yards per punt 1954.
Collegiate years interrupted due to 2 years of service in the US Army; taught history, health, and physical education at Providence for more than 30 years; named an Honorary Alumnus 1993; Providence football field named in his honor 2012.
Wife, Sondra (deceased 1-31-1999); children, Joe, Antoinette (Mike), Gino, Nick, Bill, and Shelly; grandchildren, Nicole, Tera, Erica, Peyton, Maria, and Manny.
Coaching Experience: Had 46 years of coaching experience with overall record of 229-130; assistant coach at Louisa, KY, 1956-1957; assistant football coach and head track coach at Flaget HS in Louisville 1957-1969; head football coach at Flaget in 1969 with record of 5-6 and at Shawnee HS in Louisville with record of 6-4; head football coach at Providence HS in Clarksville, IN, 1971-2004, with record of 218-120.

Coaching Honors: State Finalist in football and North-South All-Star Coach 1973; head coach of 1st Bridge Bowl Game between Southern Indiana All-Stars and Louisville Kentucky Football All-Stars 1990; State Finalist in football 1993; organized and was head coach of Southern Indiana All-Star Classic 2000; Sectional Champions 1982, 1985, 1993, 1994; Regional Champions 1993; Semi-State Champions 1973 and 1993; State Runner-up 1973 and 1993.

Outstanding Players Coached: 1st Team AP All-State Players: Pat Harris (1972, 1973), Tom Quinkert (1973), Kurt Seger (1980), Bob Coan (1983), Charlie Linton (1984), Greg Hublar (1985), Chris Klingsmith (1992), Adam Theobald (1993), Scott Shickert (1993), Syd Witlock (1995), and DJ Zipp (1998); South All-Stars: Pat Harris, Tom Quinkert (1973), Joe Sartini (1977), Greg Hublar, and Adam Theobald.